Weekend Concert Series

Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello

Michael Behringer, harpsichord

Sunday, April 19, 2020
1:30 - 3 pm
Calderwood Hall


Antonio Vivaldi, Six Sonatas for Violoncello Solo col Basso (1720–30):
No. 1 in B-flat Major, RV 47; No. 2 in F Major, RV 41;
No. 3 in A Minor, RV 43; No. 4 in B-flat Major, RV 45;
No. 5 in E Minor, RV 40; No. 6 in B-flat Major, R 46

After last season’s triumphant performance of Bach cello sonatas, the extraordinary Queyras returns to the Gardner to play Vivaldi’s set of six cello sonatas, the only such works he ever published. These glorious works show less-familiar aspects of Vivaldi’s art—by turns learned and introspective, elegant and fiery. In short, ravishing music.

The Museum thanks its generous concert donors: Fitzpatrick Family Concert; James Lawrence Memorial Concert; Alford P. Rudnick Memorial Concert; Marie Louise and David Scudder Concert; Wendy Shattuck Young Artist Concert; and Willona Sinclair Memorial Concert. The piano is dedicated as the Alex d’Arbeloff Steinway. The harpsichord was generously donated by Dr. Robert Barstow in memory of Marion Huse, and its care is endowed in memory of Dr. Barstow by The Barstow Fund. The Museum is also supported in part by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, which receives support from the State of Massachusetts and the National Endowment for the Arts.