Mission Statement

True to the ambitious vision of its founder and her spirit of creative risk-taking, the mission of the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum is:

to bring to life and preserve the rich historic collection;

to cultivate talent in the pursuit of knowledge and acts of creation in the arts and humanities;

to support artists, landscape architects, musicians, scholars and students; and

to engage local and global audiences in a sanctuary of beauty and the arts where deeply personal and communal adventures unfold.

--Adopted by the Board of Trustees, 2014.


Barbara W. Hostetter, Chair
Stephen W. Kidder, President
Rev. Dr. Ray A. Hammond, Secretary
Gwill York, Treasurer
Peggy Fogelman, Norma Jean Calderwood Director
Amy Abrams
Allison Achtmeyer
Anita Bekenstein
John Bertucci
Lisa Blumenthal
Taylor Bodman
Linda N. Cabot
Rebecca Gardner Campbell
James E. Canales
Brian Chu
RoAnn Costin
Brit d'Arbeloff
Frederick S. Downs, Jr.
Benjamin Gomez
Paula A. Johnson
Joseph Koerner
Maureen Ruettgers
Katherine Chapman Stemberg
Howard H. Stevenson

John L. Gardner, Chairman Emeritus
Dr. Samuel W. Bodman
William P. Egan
William C. Fletcher
Frieda Garcia
William Helman
Arnold S. Hiatt
Judge Julian Houston
Dr. Barbara Millen
Jane M. Pappalardo
Beth K. Pfeiffer
William J. Poorvu
Marcia Radosevich
Vincent J. Ryan
David W. Scudder
Wendy Shattuck
James L. Terry
Steven Walske
Charles O. Wood III
Henri Zerner